It’s NOT About What You Do, But WHO You Are, Matthew 7:21-23

Once I decided to adopt Buddy as my fur pal, he became my responsibility. Some days he’s a good boy; sometimes he’s rascally or misbehaves; and occasionally he’s totally disobedient and a stinker. But I don’t love him because I expect him to be a perfectly behaved little dog.

I love Buddy because he’s my pet.

Buddy is a member of my family.

Jesus said, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.”—John 3:3

Once you’ve called on Jesus to be your Savior and invited Him into your heart, you become a child of God (John 1:12-13). You’re a child of a mighty King, which makes His children princes and princesses, “a royal priesthood (1 Peter 2:9).”

God loves born again Christians because they’re His adopted children, not because they always behave.

On Judgment Day people will protest, claiming that they should be allowed into heaven because they’ve done so many good deeds.

But what does Jesus say?

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven… Many will say to Me in that day, ‘have we not… done many wonders in your name?’

“And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’”—Matthew 7:21-23

Although these people claimed to do good, even to honor Jesus, the Lord declared that He did not know them. They were not in a spiritual relationship with God.

They tried to do good deeds. But they were not born again. Which is why Jesus declared that He never knew them.

Jesus wants us to obey Him, but He declared that He not only didn’t know them, He also declared that they “practice lawlessness! (vs 23).”

But they thought they were doing good deeds.

What I’m trying to emphasize tonight is that Jesus through the Holy Spirit will lead us into the path of righteousness (Psalm 23:3) and will complete “the good work He began in you (Philippians 1:6).” God knows that His children will stumble in their walk until entering into Heaven.

Don’t believe the lie that if you sin, you’ve lost your salvation. Or that if you’re being good, you’re more acceptable to God. That’s the error that the Apostle Paul urged the Galatians to reject (Galatians 3).

You’re going to heaven because you’re a child of God.

Your salvation is based upon WHO you now are.

Not how good you can obey.

(The meanest Christians are those who think they earn God’s favor by being good and look down upon other lesser Christians who don’t meet their standards.)

Hope you find this helpful.

“For apart from Me you can do nothing.”—Jesus, John 15:5

You cannot earn your way into Heaven.

But only receive your salvation as a free gift from God (Ephesians 2:8-9) and serve Him in gratitude for His love.

God bless.

Much love from Dawn and Buddy

***

“The goodness of God leads to repentance,”—Apostle Paul, Romans 2:4

God wants you to obey Him as it blesses your life and those around you. It’s not because He wants to find fault or be “a buzz kill.” Adam and Eve wanted to define right and wrong for themselves, so they disobeyed God. How’d that work out? As a result, we all age and die. And sin against others and ourselves.

Jesus came to die for our sins so that we don’t have to suffer God’s wrath for disobedience. He obeyed God perfectly, never sinning. So He could die for our sins, because He had none to be punished for.

Would you please consider inviting Jesus to be your Lord and Savior? You don’t have to “clean up your act,” first. You just need to be willing to ask Jesus to enter your life and change your heart.

If you’re ready, please repeat the following prayer, out loud if possible:

Dear Heavenly Father, I’m sorry for my sin. Please forgive me. I call on Jesus to be my Lord and Savior. I give my life to You. Please grant me Your Holy Spirit. Thank you for hearing my prayer. In the mighty name of Jesus, amen.

If you prayed sincerely, congratulations, you’re born again. Please start reading the Bible daily, as it’s your soul food. Just as your body needs daily nourishment to be healthy, so does your soul. God speaks mainly through prayer and the Bible. I suggest starting with the Book of Matthew and reading forward.

And please join a Bible believing Bible study or church. And get baptized. It’s difficult to stand alone in an ungodly culture. If that’s not possible right now, I suggest these two ministries, which also have apps, if that’s your preference: http://www.LTW.org (Leading The Way) and http://www.AndrewFarley.org (The Grace Message).

May Buddy and I meet you in heaven one day.

Enjoy being a child of God!

(PS. I disagree with Pastor Farley about the Antichrist. I believe the Bible clearly teaches there will be a One World Government one day, ruled by the son of perdition (2 Thessalonians 2:3-4.) But he’s an excellent teacher about God’s grace.)

Leave a comment